Entally Assembly Elections 2016

The BJP had secured 28500 votes in the Entally assembly constituency in the last general Lok Sabha polls in 2014, a significant rise from a mere 3230 votes in 2011. On the other hand, TMC’s victory margin in 2011, 24996, dropped to a mere 3,582 votes in 2014. The party, which will backed by the minority community, will be in an advantageous position to claim the seat in the coming 2016 assembly elections.

Entally Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Swarna Kamal Saha AITC Won
Debesh Das CPM 47853
Sudhir Kumar Pandey BJP 14682
None of the Above None of the Above 2321
Anil Kumar Ram BSP 1266
Mir Tipu Sultan Ali PDS 1070
Khokan Dutta IND 968
Shyamal Chatterjee IND 670
Kundan Kr. Shaw IND 500
Ashok Das IND 415
Arindam Roy IND 350

Currently represented by the Trinamool Congress legislator Swarna Kamal Saha, Entally was won by him in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Debesh Das by a comfortable margin of 24996 votes. While 75891 votes were polled in favor of Swarna Kamal Saha, the CPIM candidate received 50895votes and was followed by BJP’s Sudhir Kumar Pandey who got 3,230 votes.

Debesh Das, a former minister in the Left Front government, had unsuccessfully contest the bye-poll to the Bangaon Lok Sabha seat in 2015.

Earlier, CPM’s Hashim Abdul Halim had represented Entally from 2006 to 2011.

The urban assembly constituency of Entally is formed the areas covered by Wards Nos 54- 59 of Kolkata municipal corporation.

Minority dominated Entally is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Kolkata Uttar. It earlier formed part of Calcutta North East parliamentary constituency.

According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, Entally has a total electorate of 1,94,107. Out of the total electors, 1, 07,989 are male voters and 86,118 are women.

No News Found