English Bazar Assembly Elections 2016

The coming assembly election to the English Bazar seat will witness four-cornered contest among Trinamool Congress, CPIM, Congress and BJP. The Congress has suffered reverses due to the desertion of Krishnendu Narayan Choudhury who had won the seat in 2011 on behalf of the party. The BJP cannot be brushed aside given the fact the party had taken a huge lead of 32,630 votes from the English Bazar Assembly segment and led in 24 of the 25 wards from the English Bazar municipal area in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

English Bazar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nihar Ranjan Ghosh IND Won
Krishnendu Narayan Choudhury AITC 67456
Suman Banerjee BJP 23171
None of the Above None of the Above 4336
Nihar Ghosh IND 2293
Nitish Kumar Mandal BSP 1393
Shyam Sundar Sharma SP 878
Sadhan Chatterjee HKD 528

English Bazar is currently held by its sitting MLA Krishnendu Narayan Choudhury who won the seat in 2013 in a bye-election by defeating CPMs Koushik Mishra by 20452 votes. The bye-poll was necessitated due to the resignation of Krishnendu who switched to TMC from the Congress. He was elected from the seat in 2006 and 2011 on the ticket of the Congress. Earlier CPM heavyweight Sailen Sarkar had represented English Bazar three times in a row from 1977.

One of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Malda district in West Bengal, English Bazar centres on English Bazar municipality and Binodpur, Amriti, Jadupur I, Jadupur II, Kotwali, Mahadipur and Kajigram gram panchayats of English Bazar block.

English Bazar is one of the seven assembly segments falling under Maldaha Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency. This assembly constituency in North Bengal had a total number of 208529 electors who were eligible to exercise their franchise in the 2011 poll to the seat. Of them, 107773 were males and 100756 were females.

No News Found