Egra Assembly Elections 2016

The dominance of Trinamool Congress in Egra assembly constituency can be ascertained from the fact that in the 2015 civic poll to Egra municipality, a part of the assembly constituency, TMC had trounced its opponents comprehensively. Once a bastion of Prabodh Chandra Sinha, leader of the Democratic Socialist Party (Prabodh Chandra), Egra is all set to witness close contest between TMC and DSP (P), a constituent of the Left front ion West Bengal.

Egra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Das Samares AITC Won
Shaikh Mahmud Hossain DCP(PC) 87378
Minati Sur BJP 13002
None of the Above None of the Above 3007
Jagadis Sau SUCI(C) 2340
Gourishankar Raymahapatra SP 1829

Currently Egra is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by TMC MLA Samares Das who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival DSP (P) Hrisikesh Paria by a margin of 15953 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011. While Samares Das polled 99,178 votes, DSP (P) nominee secured 83,225 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Minati Sur who got just 6,358 votes.

Earlier Egra has been represented by Prabodh Chandra SInha six times in a row from 1977. In 2006 he was defeated by Sisir Kumar Adhikari who resigned from the seat in 2009 after his election to the Lok Sabha. In the bye-poll Samares Das had defeated Prabodh Chandra SInha.

Egra is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies in the Purbi Medinipur district of West Bengal. The assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Egra municipality, Egra-1 block, and Deshbandhu, Basudevpur, Dubda, Paniparul, Manjusree, Sarbaday and Bibekananda gram panchayats of Egra- 2 block.

Egra is one of the seven assembly segments in the Medinipur Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2011 assembly election to Egra, there were 219399 electors. Out of the total electors, 115287 were male voters. The rest of the electors were women who numbered at 104112. .

No News Found