Dubrajpur Assembly Elections 2016

Prone to violent clashes among members belonging to different political parties, Dubrajpur is all set to be keenly contested assembly constituency in the 2016 assembly polls. The politics of this assembly segment is largely dominated by the local issues, in many cases cutting across religious lines. This can be gauged from the Muslims forming the support base of the BJP in many villages of the constituency.

Dubrajpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Chandra Naresh Bauri AITC Won
Bijoy Bagdi AIFB 54415
Ramprasad Das BJP 25258
None of the Above None of the Above 3658
Khagen Das BMP 2906
Biswanath Bauri IND 1812

One of the 11 seats won in 2011 west Bengal assembly elections by Forward Block, one of the constituents of the Left Front, Dubrajpur was won by Bijoy Bagdi who retained the seat for his party by defeating Santoshi Saha of Trinamool Congress by a margin of just 2713 votes in a bipolar fight. Since 1977 the seat has been sending to the state legislature candidates of Forward Block whose member Bhakti Bhusan Mandal had won six times in a row from 1977. In 2001, the seat was claimed by party candidate Bhakti Pada Ghosh.

Dubrajpur, which became a reserved seat for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes before 2011 general assembly elections, is one of the seven assembly segments under the Birbhum Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal.

One of the eleven assembly constituencies in the Birbhum district, Dubrajpur constituency includes in its domain the Dubrajpur municipality, Balijuri, Hetampur, Laxmi Narayanpur, Jashpur, Loba and Paduma gram panchayats of Dubrajpur and Khayrasol blocks. In the last assembly election to the seat, 181999 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 96449 were males and 85550 were female voters.

No News Found