Domkal Assembly Elections 2016

The upcoming 2016 assembly election to Domkal will once again witness a direct contest between Congress and CPIM. Though currently held by CPIM, the party has not been able to regain the lost ground which it has been losing to Trinamool Congress since its ouster from power in 2011. However division of votes between the Congress and TMC will stand it good stead. BJP is still not a competitive force in the Domkal assembly seat despite its making considerable gains in the last general parliamentary elections in the state.

Domkal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Anisur Rahaman Sarkar CPM Won
Soumik Hossain AITC 64813
Abdur Rahaman Sekh INC 46294
Nanda Dulal Pal BJP 4652
Abdur Rahaman Mandal IND 1756
None of the Above None of the Above 1580
Jakir Hossain Sekh IUML 1178
Syed Golam Gaus WPI 990
Dr Nazrul Islam MPI 857
Buddhadev Das IND 769
Nujrul Islam Mandal IND 627
Anisur Rahaman Sekh IND 385
Samsuzzaman SUCI(C) 358

Domkal is currently held by CPIM whose member Anisur Rehman emerged victorious from the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival Soumik Hossain of the Congress by just 3075 votes in a bipolar fight. Trinamool Congress did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the Congress. Anisur Rehman, who has been representing the seat since 1991, was a minster of the Left Front Government which ruled uninterruptedly for 34 years in Bengal.

One of the twenty two assembly constituencies located in the Murshidabad district of West Bengal, Domkal is composed of Ajimganjgola, Domkal, Bhagirathpur, Garaimari, Ghoramara, Garibpur, Jitpur, Juranpur, Juginda, Madhurkul, Sarangpur and Raipur gram panchayats of Domkal block.

Domkal is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to form the Murshidabad Lok Sabha seat. Of a total number of 193539 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly poll to Domkal, there were 100702 males and 92837 females.

No News Found