Domjur Assembly Elections 2016

In the coming election to Domjur in 2016, the contest would be mainly between CPM and Trinamool Congress which continue to hold its dominance in the constituency. The constituency was once a bastion of the CPM. An alliance with the Congress will be beneficial for the CPM The BJP has certain pockets of influence in the constituency and may eat into the votes of both CPM and TMC.

Domjur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rajib Banerjee AITC Won
Protima Dutta IND 41067
Jayanta Das BJP 15489
Kailash Naskar IND 3187
None of the Above None of the Above 2710
Sabila Begum Sardar IUL 2438
Surojit Naskar IND 2084
Pratima Dutta W/O - Biswajit Dut IND 1965
Jayanta Mondal IND 1849

Domjur is currently held by Rajib Banerjee who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of Trinamool Congress by defeating the then sitting CPM MLA Mohanta Chatterjee by a handsome margin of 24986 votes. Mohanta Chatterjee was elected from the seat in 2006 and was a minister in the Left Front government led by Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee.

Prior to 2011, Domjur had been electing CPM candidates since 1977. While Joykesh Mukherjee won the seat in 1967, 1969, 1977, 1982 and 1987, Padmanidhi Dhar represented the seat from 1991 to 2006.

One of assembly segments in the Howrah district of West Bengal, Domjur if formed by the areas covered by Bally Jagachha block as well as Bankra- 1, Bankra-2, Bankra-3, Narna, Makardah -2, Shalap -1 and Shalap 2 gram panchayats of Domjur block.

Domjur, which was earlier included in the Howrah Lok Sabha constituent, is now one of the seven assembly segments in the Sreerampur Lok Sabha constituency.

In the last assembly election to Domjur in 2011, 216676 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 114618 were males and 102058 were female voters.

No News Found