Dinhata Assembly Elections 2016

Though the Forward block, one of the Left parties, has been the domination force in Dinhata winning the seat in a row since 1977 but for one slip in 2006, desertion of Udayan Guha, the sitting Forward Block MLA, from the constituency, in famous of Trinamool Congress had given the latter a boost before the 2016 assembly elections in West Bengal.

Dinhata Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Udayan Guha AITC Won
Akshay Thakur AIFB 78939
Sachindra Nath Adhikari BJP 25598
Debendra Nath Roy BSP 5842
Dr. Md. Fazle Haque IND 4010
None of the Above None of the Above 2619
Aminal Hoque WPI 2220
Sabitri Basuniya (Ray) IND 2170
Anita Barman IND 777
Pradip Roy SUCI(C) 730

Currently held by Udayan Guha, Dinhata assembly constituency had elected him in 2011. Udayan, who joined Trinamool Congress in October 2015, had polled 93,050 votes to defeat his nearest rival and independent candidate Dr. Md. Fazle Haque by a good margin of 30026 votes. Amiya Kumar Barman of the Sharad Pawar led Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) was relegated to the third place with just 13,093 votes.

Though Trinamool Congress had won the seat in the previous assembly election in 2006 when its member Ashok Mondal had trounced Udayan Guha, the party did not contest in 2011 because it was allotted to the NCP, an alliance partner of TMC at that time.

Earlier Kamla Guha, father of Udayan Guha and former state agriculture minister had represented the seat eight times since 1962.

Dinhata is one of nine assembly segments in the North Bengal district of Cooch Behar. In addition to Dinhata municipality and Dinhata 2 block, Dinhata also contains Bhetaguri I, Dinhata Gram I, Dinhata Gram II and Putimari I gram panchayats of Dinhata 1 block.

One of the seven assembly segments in the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha constituency, Dinhata has 2, 50,721 voters, out of whom 1, 31,459 are males and 1, 19,262 are females.

No News Found