Dhupguri Assembly Elections 2016

A bastion of the CPM, Dhupguri has recently gone in favour of TMC which was able to wrest the Dhupguri municipality from the former in 2012. In the municipal election while the TMC claimed 11 wards, the CPM led Left Front and BJP emerged victorious in 4 and 1 respectively. The coming 2016 assembly election to Dhupguri will be a fight between TMC and CPM, thought the BJP can also be a serious contender.

Dhupguri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mitali Roy AITC Won
Mamata Roy CPM 71517
Agun Roy BJP 36167
None of the Above None of the Above 3262
Madhusudan Roy KPP(U) 2644
Niranjan Roy SUCI(C) 2361
Beddyuti Roy BSP 2002

The sitting MLA of Dhupguri is Mamata Roy who was elected from the seat on the ticket of CPI(M) in 2011 by trouncing Trinamool Congress’ Mina Burman by 4238 votes. Since 1977, the assembly constituency has been sending CPM MLAs to the state legislative assembly. While Banamali Roy represented the seat from 1977 to 2001, Lakshmi Kanta Roy won the seat in 2006 and 2009.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Dhupguri is one of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Jalpaiguri district of West Bengal and home to Gadhearkuthi, Jharaltagram I, Banarhat I, Gadong-I, Jharaltagram II, Magurmari I, Barogharia, Gadong II, Salbari I, Dhupguri I, Magurmari II, Salbari II, Sakoyajhora II and Dhupguri II gram panchayats of Dhupguri block.

According to the latest figures from Elections Commission, the Dhupguri constituency has a total of 2 25459 electors, out of whom 116945 are male voters and 108513 are females.

Part of the Jalpaiguri parliamentary constituency, Dhupguri is hit by the presence of the members of the Kamtapur Liberation Organisation (KLO), an insurgent group.

No News Found