DebraAssembly Elections 2016

It cannot be said with certainty that who will win the Debra assembly seat inn the forthcoming 2016 assembly elections. Though the seat is under the control of the TMC, the party does not find itself in a good position. CPM, on the other hand, is still smarting under the defeat it suffered in 2011. The complete disarray of the opposition parties may stand TMC in good stead.

Debra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Selima Khatun (Bibi) AITC Won
Jahangir Karim Sk CPM 78865
Sukumar Bhunia BJP 15428
None of the Above None of the Above 2538
Dipankar Maity SUCI(C) 1667

Debra assembly seat is presently held by Radhakanta Maiti who wrested the seat from CPM in 2011 by defeating its candidate Sorab Hossein by 8813 votes. While 86215 votes were received by Radhakanta Maiti, the CPM nominee got 77402 votes and was followed by BJP’s Dilip Kumar Roy who received only 3,893 votes.

Barring 2011, all the elections to the Debra assembly seat have been won by the CPM since 1977. While Syed Morazzam Hossain emerged victorious in 1977 and 1982, Sk. Jahangir Karim represented the seat five times in a row from 1987 to 2011.

One of the nineteen assembly constituencies located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Debra is constituted by areas covered by Debra block.

Debra is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Ghatal. Sabang, Panskura Paschim, Pingla, Daspur and Keshpur are other six assembly constituencies within the Ghatal Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Debra, 183967 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 94222 were male voters and 89745 were women.

No News Found