Dantan Assembly Elections 2016

As things stand today, neither the Left not the Trinamool Congress has an edge in the Dantan assembly constituency. The stage is all set for a close contest between TMC and the Communist Party of India in the coming 2016 assembly elections in West Bengal.

Dantan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Bikram Chandra Pradhan AITC Won
Sisir Kumar Patra CPI 66381
Shaktipada Nayak BJP 13357
Balaram Das SUCI(C) 1797
None of the Above None of the Above 1741

CPI has been traditionally holding sway in the coming 2016 assembly elections in the state. BJP has certain pockets of influence but is not a competitive force in Dantan.

Dantan is currently held by the CPI whose candidate Arun Mohapatra won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest TMC rival Shaibal Giri by 4650 votes in a direct contest. While Arun Mohapatra polled 79118 votes, the TMC nominee received 74468 votes and was followed BJP‘s Shailendra Jana who got just 3,909 votes.

Earlier Nanda Gopal Battacharjee had represented the seat from 1996 to 2011. He was a minister in the Left front government led by both Jyoti Basu and Buddhadeb Bhattcharjee. He did not contest the 2011 election.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Medinipur parliamentary constituency in West Bengal, Dantan is formed by the areas covered by Dantan -2 block, Mohanpur block, and Chak Islampur gram panchayat of Dantan - 1 block.

Dantan, one of the nineteen two assembly segments located in the Paschim Medinipur district, had an electorate of 179499 in the last assembly poll to the seat in 2011. Out of the total electors, 93373 were male voters. The rest of the electors were females who numbered at 86126.

No News Found