Dabgram-Phulbari Assembly Elections 2016

North Bengal development minister in the Mamata Banerjee government, Goutam Deb is a prominent face of TMC in Dabgram-Phulbari. However, Left Frontís victory in the 2015 Siliguri Municipal Corporation (SMC) election has put them in the reckoning. Though the BJP has performed well in 2014 parliamentary elections, it managed to win only 2 wards out of the 47 wards in the SMC. In the coming assembly poll, it will be a keenly contested fight between Goutam Deb and the Left Front.

Dabgram-Phulbari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Goutam Deb AITC Won
Dilip Singh CPM 81958
Rathindra Bose (Rathin) BJP 26195
None of the Above None of the Above 3283
Subhas Biswas IND 2180
Sanjiban Sarkar BSP 1409
Abul Kashem SUCI(C) 1017
Dulal Sarkar AMB 914

Currently represented by Goutam Deb, Dabgram-Phulbari was won by him in the only election to the seat in 2011 by defeating Dilip Singh of CPIM by a comfortable margin of 11236 votes in a direct contest. Where 84649 votes were polled in favour of Goutam Deb, now a minister in the CPIM candidate received 73413 votes and was remotely followed by Dulal Kanti Das of BJP with 10,623 votes.

One of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Jalpaiguri district of West Bengal, Dabgram-Phulbari is composed of Dabgram I, Dabgram II, Fulbari I and Fulbari II gram panchayats of Rajganj block and also covers 14 wards of Siliguri Municipal Corporation.

Dabgram-Phulbari, which came as a replacement for the erstwhile Kranti assembly constituency in 2008, is one of the assembly segments the combination of which creates the Jalpaiguri Lok Sabha seat. Dabgram-Phulbari is home to a transit point of the India-Bangladesh border.

In 2011 assembly election, Dabgram-Phulbari had an electorate of 209696, out of which 111325 were male voters and 98371 were females.

No News Found