Coochbehar Uttar Assembly Elections 2016

Despite the Trinamool wave in the last assembly polls, Cooch Behar North went in favour of the Forward Block, a constituent of the Left Front which ruled West Bengal 34 years in a trot. However, TMC has made strides in the constituency and BJP has also made handsome gains in the 2014 parliamentary elections. Consequently, the stage is all set for a triangular contest in the coming 2016 assembly election to Cooch Behar North.

Coochbehar Uttar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nagendra Nath Roy AIFB Won
Parimal Barman AITC 85336
Sukumar Roy BJP 30025
None of the Above None of the Above 2649
Prafulla Kumar Das IND 1843
Gopal Roy IND 1765
Anilchandra Roy SUCI(C) 1731
Haribala Ray AMB 1507
Naresh Chandra Roy IND 1286

Nagendra Nath Roy is the sitting MLA of Cooch Behar North which was won by him on behalf of Forward Block in 2011. In that election, he had defeated Prasenjit Barman of the TMC by a narrow margin of 2197 votes in a bipolar contest. While 84825 votes were polled by Nagendra Nath Roy, the TMC candidate received 82628 votes and was followed by BJP’s Malati Ray who got 12608 votes.

Earlier, Forward Block’s Dipak Chandra Sarker had represented the seat from 2001 to 2011. Barring 1996, the party has been winning all the elections to Cooch Behar North since 1977.

Composed of the Cooch Behar -2 block, Cooch Behar Uttar assembly constituency is located in Cooch Behar district and inhabited by urban population and has an electorate of 243455 according to the latest figures released by Election Commission in 2014. Out of the total electors, 128269 are males and females numbered at 115184.

A reserved seat for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Cooch Behar Uttar is one of the seven assembly segments under the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal.

No News Found