Chunchura Assembly Elections 2016

Once a safe seat for the Left Front, Chunchura is now tuned into a stronghold of the Trinamool Congress which won the seat in the last assembly election. In 2015 municipal election to Hooghly-Chinsurah Municipality, which forms part of the Chunchura assembly constituency, TMC had emerged victorious. Though TMC is faced with anti-incumbency, the opposition parties are in disarray. In all upcoming assembly polls, Chunchura will witness bipolar contest between TMC and Forward Bloc, a constituent of the left Front.

Chunchura Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Asit Mazumder (Tapan) AITC Won
Dr. Pranab Kumar Ghosh AIFB 88817
Champa Chakraborty BJP 25120
None of the Above None of the Above 5603
Paban Mazumder SUCI(C) 2208
Deb Kanta Sikdar IND 1289

Asit Mazumdar is the sitting MLA of Chunchura which was won by him on behalf of the Trinamool Congress in 2011. In that election, he had defeated five- time Forward Bloc MLA Naren Dey by a massive margin of 44592 votes.

Whereas 127206 votes were polled in favour of Asit Mazumdar, Naren Dey received 82614 votes and was remotely followed by Champa Chakraborty of BJP with 5,761 votes.

Earlier Naren Dey had been elected from the Chunchura assembly seat in 1987, 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Chunchura is one of the eighteen assembly segments located in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Hooghly-Chunchura municipality and Debanandapur, Bandel, Kodalia I and Kodalia II gram panchayats of Chinsurah-Mogra block. The constituency also contains Rajhat, Polba and Sugandha gram panchayats of Polba-Dadpur block.

Chunchura is one of the seven assembly seats that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Hooghly.

In the last assembly election to Chunchura in 2011, 263852 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 134540 were males and 129312 were female voters.

No News Found