Chowrangee Assembly Elections 2016

Though the Congress had led from the Chowrangee assembly constituency by 1548 votes over Trinamool Congress in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the seat was won by the latter in a 2014 bye- election in which the BJP candidate was the runner-up. Hence in all probability, the coming assembly election will witness keen contest between TMC, BJP and the Congress which has entered into an alliance.

Chowrangee Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nayna Bandyopadhyay AITC Won
Somendranath Mitra INC 41903
Ritesh Tiwari BJP 15707
None of the Above None of the Above 2183
Kartik Kumkar Ray SUCI(C) 612
Debajyoti Sengupta IND 340
Dipankar Dey IND 254
Shahzad Anwar LJP 251
Anirban Mukherjee IND 188

Nayna Bandyopadhyay, wife of TMC MLA MP Sudip Bandhipadhyaya, is the sitting MLA of Chowrangee assembly seat which was won by her in a bye lection by defeating her nearest BJP rival Ritesh Tiwari by 14344 votes. In that election, while Nayna Bandyopadhyay poled 38328 votes, Ritesh Tiwari received 23984 votes and was closely followed by Santosh Kumar Pathak of Congress with 23,317 votes.

The bye-election was necessitated due to the resignation of then sitting TMC MLA Sikha Chowdhury, wife of Soumen Mitra. Sikha Chowdhury and Soumen Mitra had joined the Congress from TMC. Sikha Chowdhury had won the seat in 2011 on behalf of TMC by defeating RJD’s Bimal Singh, then backed by the Left Front.

Chowrangee has never been won by any of the Left parties.

Chowrangee assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Numbers 44- 53 and 62 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC).

Chowrangee assembly constituency is inhabited by the urban population. It is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Kolkata Uttar.

In the last assembly election to Chowrangee, there was a total electorate of 203052. Out of them, 130585 were males, 72467 were females.

No News Found