Chopra Assembly Elections 2016

Though In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, the TMC Darjeeling Lok Sabha candidate and top footballer Bhaichung Bhutia lost to S.S. Ahluwalia of the BJP by a huge margin of 1,97,239 votes, the Chopra assembly constituency had given him a handsome lead of 22,765 votes. This is testament to the strong performance of the TMC in the constituency despite the Modi wave which is now on the wane. In other words, Chopra is of the safest seat in Darjeeling parliamentary constituency.

Chopra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Hamidul Rahaman AITC Won
Akramul Hoque CPM 57530
Sajen Ram Singha BJP 15815
Ashok Roy IND 15618
Sarkar Murmu JDP 4214
Naseer Ahmed Khan GJM 3531
Dr Md Tabibur Rahman IND 2681
None of the Above None of the Above 2655
Ruhidas Uraw BSP 1456

Currently held by Hamidul Rahman, Chopra assembly seat had elected him in 2011 as an independent. While Hamidul Rahman polled 64,289 votes, his nearest rival and then sitting CPM MLA Anwarul Haque received 57,719 votes. Sekh Jalaluddin of the TMC was distantly placed at third with 6,944 votes and forfeited his deposit.

Hamidul Rahman, who had also won the seat in 2001 as an independent, is now with TMC. He was defeated by Anwarul Haque in 2006 in which he entered the fray as a Congress nominee. Earlier CPM has won the seat five times in a row from 1977.

Chopra is composed of Chopra block and Kamalagaon Sujali gram panchayat of Islampur block.

Though Chopra is one of the seven assembly segments in Darjeeling Lok Sabha constituency, the constituency is located in the plains. Inhabited by Rajbangshi and tea estate population, Chopra has also a sizeable minority population.

Located in the Uttar Dinajpur district of West Bengal, Chopra had a total electorate of 167193 in 2011. Of them, 88460 were males and 78733 were female voters.

No News Found