Chanditala Assembly Elections 2016

Once a bastion of the CPM prior to 2011, Chanditala began to turn to the Trinamool Congress after that and continues to favor the latter. TMC is however plagued with internal feud which can harm its prospect. The coming 2016 assembly election to Chanditala will be a direct fight between TMC and CPM. The party which will be able to get the support of the Minority will be in an advantageous position.

Chanditala Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Swati Khandoker AITC Won
Azim Ali Md. Sk. CPM 77698
Sudipta Chattopadhyay BJP 12843
None of the Above None of the Above 3305
Raghuwansh Dwiwedy SHS 1970
Moidul Islam Laskar IUL 1426
Dinabandhu Dutta SUCI(C) 1184

Currently represented by Swati Khandekar of TMC, Chanditala was won by her in 2011 by defeating her nearest CPM rival Sk. Azim Ali by a margin of 16920 votes in a direct contest. Whereas 86394 votes were polled in favour of Swati Khandekar, the CPM member received 69474 votes and was remotely followed by Sudipta Chatterjee of BJP with 5,413 votes.

Earlier the CPM had won all the elections to the Chanditala seat from 1977 to 2006 except for 1996 when the Congress candidate Akbar Ali Khandoker was elected from the seat. in the 1999 bye-poll following Akbar’s election to the Lok Sabha from Sreerampore, Chanditala went in fafour Bhaktaram Pan who was also elected in 2001 and 2006.

Chanditala, which is dotted with industrial units, is one of the eighteen assembly segments located in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Bhogabatipur, Krishnarampur, Gangadharpur, Nababpur and Kumirmorah gram panchayats of Chanditala- 1 block as well as Barijhati, Baksa, Chanditala, Garalgacha, Dankuni, Janai, Mrigala, Monaharpur and Naiti gram panchayats of Chanditala- 2 block.

Chanditala is one of the seven assembly seats that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Sreerampur which is currently held by kalian Banerjee of TMC.

In the last assembly election to Chanditala in 2011, 202047 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 105839 were males and 96208 were female voters.

No News Found