Chanchal Assembly Elections 2016

Like other assembly segments of the Malda Lok Sabha constituency, Chanchal has a dominance of the Congress. The coming assembly election to the seat can witness a keen multi-cornered contest if the Trinamool Congress and Congress decide to go the polls separately. BJP has also a good presence in the constituency making the fight a keen one.

Chanchal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Asif Mehbub INC Won
Soumitra Ray AITC 40222
Dipankar Ram BJP 33601
None of the Above None of the Above 2326
Doli Chaudhury Roy BSP 1896
Kalicharan Roy SUCI(C) 1519

Chanchal is currently represented in the West Bengal legislative assembly by Asif Mehboob who won the seat in 2011 on the ticket of Congress by defeating his nearest CPIM rival Anjuman Ara Begam by a comfortable margin of 14187 votes. In that election 68586 votes were polled in favour of Asif Mehbub, who had earlier won the erstwhile Kharba seat in a bye-election in 2008. Anjuman Ara Begam, who had unsuccessfully contested the Kharba assembly seat in 2006, secured 54399 votes and was followed by Sital Prasad Chakraborty of the BJP with 11002 votes. The TMC did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the Congress in 2011.

Chanchal, which came into existence in place of erstwhile Kharba assembly constituency before 2011 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Maldah Uttar Lok Sabha constituency currently held by Mausam Noor of the Congress. In the last assembly election to Chanchal in 2011, there were a total of 171300 electors, out of whom 89933 were males and 81367 were female voters.

One of twelve assembly constituencies located in the Malda district of West Bengal, Chanchal contains in its jurisdiction the block of Chanchal-1 as well as Kusidha, Barui, Rashidabad and Tulsihatta gram panchayats of Harishchandrapur-1 block.

No News Found