Champdani Assembly Elections 2016

In 2015, TMC has won the elections to the municipalities of Champdani and Baidyabati which are parts of the Champdani assembly constituency. However, it won’t be easy for the TMC as a division of votes between the TMC and BJP will stand CPM in good stead. The non-Bengali workers of the jute mills may back the BJP. The Congress also enjoys a good support. A multi-cornered contest may spring a surprise.

Champdani Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Abdul Mannan INC Won
Muzaffar Khan AITC 74048
Raj Kumari Shaw BJP 23383
None of the Above None of the Above 3602
Sima Chowdhuri SUCI(C) 1899

Muzaffar Khan is the sitting MLA of Champdani which he wrested from the CPM by defeating its nominee and then sitting MLA Jibesh Chakraborty by a good margin of 36313 votes.. In that election, while Muzaffar Khan had polled 92476 votes, Jibesh Chakraborty received 56163 votes. Durga Verma, who entered the fray as a nominee of BJP, came third with 8,258 votes. Earlier in 2006 Jibesh Chakraborty had won the Champdani seat by defeating senior Congress leader Abdul Mannan who had been elected from here in 1991, 1996 and 2001.

The municipalities of Champdani and Baidyabati are covered by the Champdani assembly constituency which also contains some wards of Serampore municipality as well as Payarapur gram panchayat of Sreerampur-Uttarpara block.

The semi-urban constituency of Champdani is one of the seven assembly segments in the Sreerampur Lok Sabha constituency.

Champdani is one of eighteen assembly segments in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Champdani has a total electorate of 209316. Out of them 110735 are males and 98,581 are women voters.

No News Found