Chakdaha Assembly Elections 2016

Traditionally a citadel of the Left Front, Chakdaha is now a stronghold of the Trinamool Congress (TMC). In 2013 municipal election to Chakdaha municipality, CPM failed to win a single seat out of the civic body’s 21 seats. While in the previous municipal poll, the party had secured 20 seats. On the other hand, though TMC is faced with anti-incumbency, the opposition parties are not in a position to capitalize on the disenchantment of the voters.

Chakdaha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Kar Ratna Ghosh AITC Won
Biswanath Gupta CPM 70588
Pradip Kumar Sarkar BJP 16294
None of the Above None of the Above 2739
Sarnab Bose SHS 2579
Dhirendra Majumdar BSP 2077
Ashok Kumar Kundu PDS 1368

Naresh Chandra Chaki is the sitting MLA of which he won on behalf of TMC in 2011 by defeating Biswanath Gupta of CPM by a margin of 14099 votes in a bipolar contest. While 88771 votes were polled in favour of Naresh Chandra Chaki, the CPM candidate received 74672 votes. Biswajit Ghosh, who entered the fray on the ticket of BJP, was placed third with just 6674 votes. Earlier the CPM candidates have emerged victorious from the Chakdaha assembly seat in all the elections since 1977. Former education minister Satyasadhan Chakraborty represented the seat from 1991 to 2006.

One of the seventeen assembly constituencies in the Nadia district, Chakdaha includes in its domain the areas covered by Chakdaha municipality, and Chanduria I, Ghetugachhi, Dubra, Rautari, Tatla I, Tatla II, Silinda I and Silinda II gram panchayats of Chakdaha block.

In the last assembly election to the Chakdaha seat, 192318 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 100835 were males and 91483 were female voters.

Chakdaha is one of the seven assembly segments under the Ranaghat Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal.

No News Found