Burwan Assembly Elections 2016

More specifically, Burwan assembly constituency is part of Behrampore Lok Sabha which Murshidabad strongman and Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury won by more than 3.5 lakh votes in the general elections in 2014. However, defection of some Congress functionaries to the Triamool Congress has dented the prospects of the Congress. This may prove beneficial to the Revolutionary Socialist Party(RSP), a constituent of the Left Front. Defection of two- time Congress MP Mannan Hossain to the TMC has also led to the consolidation of TMC.

Burwan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Protima Rajak INC Won
Shasthi Charan Mal AITC 40904
Binoy Sarkar RSP 33040
Amiya Kumar Das BJP 15440
Ranjit Das SP 1876
Jata Sankar Thandar IND 1094

Burwan is currently held by the Congress whose candidate Protima Rajak wrested the seat in 2011 from RSP which had been winning it since 1977. In that election she defeated her nearest RSP rival Binoy Sarkar by a narrow margin of 616 votes in a bipolar contest. While 66304votes were polled in favour of Protima Rajak, the RSP candidate received 65688 votes and was followed by BJP’s Sukhnen Kumar Bagdi who got 8,809 votes.

One of the twenty two assembly constituencies located in the Murshidabad district of West Bengal, Burwan is composed of Burwan I, Burwan II, Biprasekhar, Kharjuna, Kurunnorun, Kuli, Panchthupi, Sabalpur, Sabaldaha, Sahora and Sundarpur gram panchayats of Burwan block and Jajan, Gadda and Gundiria gram panchayats of Burwan -1 block.

Burwan, which became a reserved seat for scheduled castes before 2011, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Behrampore parliamentary seat.

Of a total number of 169158 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Burwan, there were 88814 males and 80344 females.

No News Found