Binpur Assembly Elections 2016

Two main contesting parties in Binpur are CPM and Jharkhand Party. In the last general assembly polls in West Bengal, CPM led Left front did not fare so badly in West Medinipur as compared to other districts in the state. Out of the total 19 assembly seats, while the Left Front managed to win nine and the Congress-Trinamool combine secured 10 seats. Since BJP does not have much of a presence in Binpur, the equations between Jharkhand Party and Trinamool is likely to decide the outcome of the 2016 election to the constituency.

Binpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Khagendranath Hembram AITC Won
Dibakar Hansda CPM 46481
Murari Mohan Baske BJP 15467
Birbaha Hansda JKP(N) 7094
Subodh Saren AJSU Party 2250
Rajib Mudi SUCI(C) 1701

Binpur is currently held by CPIM whose candidate Dibakar Hansda won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival and then sitting MLA Chunibala Hansda of Jharkhand Party (Naren) by 7610 votes. Earlier, the seat was represented from 2006 to 2011 by Chunibala Hansda who had defeated CPM’s Sambhu Nath Mandi who had claimed the seat in 1977, 1982 and 2001. Chunibala Hansda had won the seat in 2006 with the backing of the Congress.

One of the nineteen assembly constituencies located in the Paschim (West) Medinipur district of West Bengal, Binpur covers blocks of Binpur -2 (Belpahari) and Jamboni.

One of the sixteen assembly seats reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled tribes in West Bengal, Binpur is one of the seven assembly segments that comprise the Jhargram parliamentary seat located in the West Medinipur district.

Of a total number of 179861 electorate eligible to cast their votes in the last assembly election to Binpuri in 2011, there were 91326 males and 88535 females.

No News Found