Bijpur Assembly Elections 2016

Though faced with internal factionalism, Trinamool Congress continues to dominate the Bijpur assembly constituency. In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the party candidate led from the constituency. In 2015 civic elections to the municipalities of Kanchrapara and Halisahar, parts of the Bijpur assembly segment, TMC had won handsomely. However, BJP has gained enormously after 2014 parliamentary polls

Bijpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Subhranshu Roy AITC Won
Dr. Rabindra Nath Mukherjee CPM 28888
Alo Rani Sarkar BJP 13731
Kalipada Debnath SUCI(C) 1714
Krishna Gopal Majhi BSP 1001
Chirantan Mukherjee PDS 629
Nirupam Mallick IND 487

Subhranshu Roy, son of disgruntled TMC leader Mukul Roy, is the sitting MLA of Bijpur which he wrested from the CPM by trouncing its incumbent MLA Nirjharini Chakarborty by 12612 votes. In that election, while Subhranshu Roy, whose relation with TMC is less than cordial, polled 65479 votes, Nirjharini Chakarborty received 52867 votes and was followed by BJP’s Kamala Kanta Chowdhury who got just 4,841 votes.

Earlier CPM has won all the assembly elections to Bijpur since 1977 barring the last one in 2011.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, the urban assembly constituency of Bijpur is formed the areas covered by the municipalities of Halisahar and Kanchrapara.

Bijpur is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Barrackpore, currently represented in the Lok Sabha by TMC MP and former Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi. Other six assembly segments in the Barrackpore LOk Sabha seat are Naihati, Bhatpara, Jagatdal, Noapara, Barrackpur and Amdanga.

In the 2011 assembly election to Bijpur, the constituency had an electorate of 158823. Of them, 85891 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 72932.

No News Found