Bhatpara Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress had trailed in the Bhatpara Assembly segment in the 2014 Lok Sabha election to Barrackpore which was, though, won by the TMC. TMC sitting MLA Arjun Singh had won the Bhatpara assembly seat in 2011 by polling 70.94 per cent of the votes. Internal factionalism in the party has the potential to play havoc with his fortunes this time.

Bhatpara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Arjun Singh AITC Won
Jitendra Shaw (Jitu) IND 30318
Rumesh Kumar Handa BJP 14333
Gopal Raut IND 788
Partha Bhattacharyya SUCI(C) 688
Dharmendra Singh IND 678
Shatrughna Singh IND 504

As said earlier Bhatpara is currently held by Arjun Singh who won it in 2011 third time in a row by defeating his nearest CPIM rival Nepaldeb Bhattacharyya by a massive margin of 44385. While Arjun Singh received 66938 votes, the CPM secured got 22553 votes. BJP’s Pradyot Kumar Choudhary was placed third with just 2,099 votes.

Earlier Arjun Singh had won the seat in 2001 and 2006. Bidyut Ganguly of CPIM emerged victorious from the seat 1991 and 1996. CPM’s Sitaram Gupta was elected in 1959, 1969, 1977 and 1982.

Bhatpara is located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal. Bhatpara assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Bhatpara municipality.

Bhatpara is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Barrackpore. Barrackpore Lok Sabha is currently represented by TMC MP and former Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi. Other six assembly segments in the Barrackpore Lok Sabha seat are Barrackpore, Bijpur, Noapara, Jagatdal, Naihati and Amdanga.

In the 2011 assembly election to Bhatpara, the constituency had an electorate of 123505. Of them, 72918 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 50587.

No News Found