Bhatar Assembly Elections 2016

A close contest between Trinamool Congress and CPM is a distinct [possibility in Bhatar assembly constituency for the forthcoming 2016 assembly elections. A bastion of the CPM for decades, the party was ousted from the seat in 2011 due to the enchantment of the people albeit by a thin margin. CPM is now in a resurgent mode and TMC may not find in it easy to retain the seat.

Bhatar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Subhash Mondal AITC Won
Bamacharan Banerjee CPM 86264
Anjan Mukherjee BJP 12950
Dhananjay Ghoshal BSP 2176
Santosh Nandi IND 1438

Bhatar assembly seat is currently held by Banamali Hazra who wrested the seat from CPM in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Srijit Konar by a narrow margin of 298 5863 votes in a bipolar contest. While 83883 votes were polled by Banamali Hazra, the CPM candidate received 83585 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Dhatripada Konar who received only 5,586 votes.

In 2006 Banamali Hazra lost to Syed Mohammad Masih of CPM by a massive margin of 35303 votes. Syed Mohammad Masih who was denied party ticket in 2011, had also bee elected from the seat in 1982, 1987 and 2006.

One of the 25 assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Bhatar is formed by Bhatar block and Kurman I and Kshetia gram panchayats of Burdwan – 1 block.

The constituency is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Bardhaman-Durgapur Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2011, 197674 people were eligible to cast their votes in the Bhatar assembly constituency. Of them, 102255 were male voters and 95419 were women.

No News Found