Bhangar Assembly Elections 2016

CPM enjoys an edge in Bhangar assembly which is also a stronghold of the Trinamool Congress. Both are equally poised to win the seat. The support of the minority community is crucial to win the seat. The party which has the support of the Muslims will be in an advantageous position. BJP does not stand much of a chance as majority of the population in the constituency is Muslims.

Bhangar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Abdur Razzak Molla AITC Won
Abdur Rasid Gazi CPM 83963
Abani Kumar Mondal BJP 9563
Jalal Uddin Ahmed WPI 4039
Ikbal Molla LJP 2048
Abdus Salam Molla (Raju) IND 1804

Currently, Bhangar is held TMC’s Badal Jamadar who won the seat fourth time in 2011 by defeating the then sitting TMC MLA Arabul Islam by a simple margin of 5106 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election while Badal Jamadar secured 81965 votes, Arabul Islam polled 76859 votes. All the other contestants lost their deposits.

Earlier Arabul Islam was elected from the seat in 2006. Apart from 2011, Badal Jamadar had won the seat in 1991, 1996 and 2001.

Bhangar, where Muslims account for 80 per cent of the population, is located in the South 24-Parganas district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Bhangar 2 block, and Narayanpur, Jagulgachhi and Pranganj gram panchayats of Bhangar- 1 block.

35km from Calcutta, Bhangar is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Jadavpur Lok Sabha constituency. Earlier Bhangar formed part of the Basirhat parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Bhangar, the constituency had an electorate of 187372. Of them, 99408 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 87964.

No News Found