Beleghata Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress is a dominating factor in the Beleghata assembly constituency, internal feud between various factions of the party may harm its chances in the upcoming 2016 elections. Added to this, CPM is not so weak to pose a challenge tp the TMC. The BJP which saw sharp rise in vote share will also try to make the contest triangular.

Beleghata Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Paresh Paul AITC Won
Rajib Biswas CPM 58664
Partha Chaudhury BJP 11516
Arun Kumar Das IND 990
Chinmoy Sengupta IND 968
Timir Kumar IND 479

Beleghata is presently held by veteran TMC legislator Paresh Pal who wrested the seat from the CPM in 2011 by defeating its candidate Anadi Shahoo by a handsome margin of 31688 votes in a bipolar contest.

While 93,185 votes were polled by Paresh Pal, the CPM nominee received 61,497 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Arun Shaw who got only 2,690 votes and lost his deposit.

Earlier Manabendra Mukherjee of CPM had represented the seat from 1987 to 2011.

Beleghata, which has a large concentration of minority voters, is located in Kolkata. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 28-30, 33-36 and 57 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC).

The urban constituency of Beleghata is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Kolkata Uttar parliamentary constituency. Chowranghee, Entally, Jorasanko, Shyampukur, Maniktala and Kashipur Belgachhia are the other six assembly seats within the Kolkata Uttar Lok Sabha constituency. Beleghata earlier formed part of the erstwhile Calcutta North East parliamentary constituency.

According to the latest figures by the Election Commission of India, Beleghata is home to 2, 29,927 registered voters. Of them, 1,26,556 are males and 1,03,371 are female voters.

No News Found