Beldanga Assembly Elections 2016

A stronghold of Adhir Chowdhury, Congress MP from Behrampur, Beldanga is all set for a triangular fight between among the Congress, RSP and Trinamool Congress in the coming 2016 assembly elections in the state. As things stand today, the Congress has an edge over other political parties. As is the case with many assembly constituencies in the Murshidabad district, the BJP is not a competitive force in Beldanga.

Beldanga Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Seikh Safiujjaman INC Won
Golam Kibria Mia AITC 56736
Alok Ghosh BJP 25651
Ittefa Hossain IUML 2865
Marjina Khatun SP 1552

Beldanga is currently held by the Congress whose candidate Seikh Safiujjaman won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) MLA Md. Refatullah by 13883 votes in a direct contest. While Seikh Safiujjaman polled 67,888 votes, Refatullah received 54,005 votes and was followed BJP‘s Alok Ghosh who got 17,282 votes. Earlier Timir Baran Bhaduri of RSP, a constituent of the Left Font, was elected from the seat in 1971, 1972, 1977 and 1996.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Behrampur parliamentary constituency in West Bengal, Beldanga is composed of Beldanga municipality, Bhabta I and II, Mirjapur II, Debkundu, Mahula I and Sujapur Kumarpur gram panchayats of Beldanga block, and Bhakuri II, Haridasmati, Naoda Panur, Rajdharpara and Rangamati Chandpara gram panchayats of Behrampur block.

Beldanga, one of the twenty two assembly segments located in the Murshidabad districts, had an electorate of 182630 in the last assembly poll to the seat in 2011. Out of the total electors, 95547 were male voters. The rest of the electors were females who numbered at 87083.

No News Found