Behala Purba Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress led from the Behala Purba assembly constituency in 2014 Lok Sabha polls, it suffered a substantial loss of 36,517 votes compared to what it secured in 2011 assembly polls. The party has somewhat improved its performance in the elections to the Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) of which Behala Purba is a part.

Behala Purba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sovan Chatterjee AITC Won
Professor Ambikesh Mahapatra IND 72327
Chandra Bhan Singh BJP 21854
Sumit Banerjee SHS 3649
Bimal Mondal IND 2093
Rina Roy BSP 1700
Ayan Nag IND 1700
Namita Chakraborty IND 738

Behala Purba is presently held by Sovan Chatterjee who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival and sititng CPM MLA Kumkum Chakraborty by a huge margin of 48173 votes in a bipolar contest. While Sovan Chatterjee, who also happens to be the Mayor of KMC, received 116,709 votes, the CPM nominee secured 68,536 votes. BJP’s A. Biswajit Naidud was placed third with just 3,692 votes.

Earlier Kumkum Chakraborty was elected in 1991, 1996 and 2006 from the Behala Purba seat.

Located in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Behala Purba assembly constituency is constituted by areas covered by Wards nos 115-117 and 120- 124 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation. The constituency also contains the Joka I and Joka II gram panchayats of Thakurpukur Mahestola block.

Behala Purba constituency is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Kolkata Dakshin parliamentary constituency. Kasba, Behala Purba, Behala Paschim, Kolkata Port, Bhabanipur, Rashbehari and Ballygunge are the other six assembly seats within the Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency. Earlier Behala Purba was included in the Jadavpur Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Behala Purba, there was a total electorate of 243394 voters, out of which 122471 are males and 120923 are females.

No News Found