Basanti Assembly Elections 2016

Despite the wave of change sweeping across the West Bengal in 2011, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) managed to win the Basanti assembly seat. It was the only one the party had won in the South 24 Parganas district. However, rivalry between RSP and CPM, both constituents of the Left Front, is a truism in the Basanti assembly constituency.

Basanti Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Gobinda Chandra Naskar AITC Won
Subhas Naskar RSP 73915
Pankaj Roy BJP -
Taranga Mondal IND -
Himanshu Kayal MPI -

Currently Basanti is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by RSP’s Subhas Naskar by defeating his nearest TMC rival Arnab Ray by a margin of 6235 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011.

In that election, while Subhas Naskar polled 72871 votes, the TMC nominee secured 66636 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Amal Kanti Roy who got 5,676 votes.

Subhas Naskar, who was the irrigation minister in the Left front government has been getting elected from the seat since 1977.

Situated in the Sundarbans area of West Bengal, Basanti is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Jaynagar.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Basanti is located in the South – 24 Paraganas district. The assembly seat is formed by the areas covered by Basanti, Amjhara, Bharatgarh, Jharkhali, Fool Malancha, Jyotishpur, Nafarganj, Kanthalberia, Ramchandrakhali, Charabidya and Uttar Mokamberia gram panchayats of Basanti block as well as Atharobanki gram panchayat of Canning- 2 block.

In the last assembly election to the Basanti seat, 182806 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 95074 were males and 87732 were female voters.

No News Found