Baruipur Purba Assembly Elections 2016

The minority vote is a factor in Baruipur Purba. Muslims who had supported the Trinamool Congress in 2011 has become disenchanted. This will be beneficial for the CPM whose once munch vaunted organization network is in tatters. The rise of BJP due to Mamata’s overt overtures to minority community is another factor and the party cannot be taken lightly.

Baruipur Purba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nirmal Chandra Mondal AITC Won
Sujoy Mistry CPM 71951
Amulya Kumar Naskar BJP 12738
Ajay Saha SUCI(C) 9230
Bimal Krishna Mondal BSP 1653
Chinmoy Naskar IND 1364
Alok Sardar IND 691

Currently, Baruipur Purba is held TMC’s Nirmal Chandra Mandal who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Bimal Mistry by an impressive margin 18479 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election while Nirmal Chandra Mandal secured 83636 votes, the CPM candidate polled 65157 votes and was followed by BJP’s Tapas Naskar who received 5,432 votes.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Baruipur Purba is located in the South 24-Parganas district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Bamangachhi, Dhosa Chandaneswar, Chaltaberia, Jangalia, Narayanitala and Khakurdaha gram panchayats of Jaynagar block and Belegachhi, Begumpur, Brindakhali, Hardhah, Champahati, Nabagram, Ramnagar I, Ramnagar II and South Garia gram panchayats of Baruipur block.

Baruipur Purba, which came into being before 2011, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary constituency of Jadavpur. Other six are Baruipur Paschim, Sonarpur Dakshin, Bhangar, Jadavpur, Sonarpur Uttar and Tollyganj.

In the 2011 assembly election to Baruipur Purba, the constituency had an electorate of 189023. Of them, 97795 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 91228.

No News Found