Bardhaman Uttar Assembly Elections 2016

A close fight CPM and Trinamool Congress is in the offing in Bardhaman Uttar assembly constituency for the forthcoming 2016 assembly elections. A bastion of the CPM since 1977, the party is now in a resurgent mode and TMC may not find it easy to win the seat.

Bardhaman Uttar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nisith Kumar Malik AITC Won
Aparna Saha CPM 91381
Prasanta Saha BJP 15275
Tarun Kanti Majhi CPI(ML)(L) 2275
Mahadev Malik BSP 1715

Bardhaman Uttar assembly seat is currently represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by Aparna Saha who retained the seat for CPM in 2011 by defeating TMC candidate Nisith Kumar Malik by a comfortable margin of 14233 votes. While 98182 votes were polled by Aparna Saha, the TMC nominee got 83949 votes and was followed by BJP’s Sunil Sen who received 5,607 votes.

Earlier Pradip Tah, who was murdered by the supporters of TMC in 2012, had been elected in 2006 by a massive margin of 63415 votes. CPM candidates have been wining all the elections to Bardhaman Uttar assembly constituency since 1977.

Also known as Burdwan North in popular parlance, Bardhaman Uttar assembly constituency is composed of Bardhaman municipality. No. 266 Bardhaman Uttar is composed of Burdwan - 2 block and Bandul I, Belkash, Rayan I, Rayan II, Baghar I, Saraitikar and Baghar II gram panchayats of Burdwan – 1 block.

One of the twenty five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Burdwan North is one of the seven assembly segments in the Bardhaman-Durgapur parliamentary constituency.

Of a total number of 211206 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Burdwan North, there were 108511 males and 102695 females.

No News Found