Barasat Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool has established its supremacy in the Barasat assembly constituency and all set to retain the seat. Apart from taking a lead from the assembly segment in 2014 parliamentary elections, TMC had also won the 2015 election to Municipality of Barasat which is a part of the constituency. The BJP’s fortunes have also increased after its good performance in the Lok Sabha elections.

Barasat Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Chiranjeet Chakrabarti AITC Won
Chattopadhyay Sanjib AIFB 74668
Dr. Bithika Mandal BJP 22537
Sunil Chandra Roy BSP 2827
Biplab Dutta SUCI(C) 1230
Ashim Kanti Ghosh SHS 1110

Barasat is currently held by famous Bengali actor Chiranjeet who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of Trinamool Congress by defeating Sanjib Chattopadhaya of Forward Bloc by a sizable margin of 40211 votes. In that election, Chiranjeet, who is otherwise known as Chiranjeet Chakrabarti, polled 103954 votes, the CPM nominee received 63743 votes and was followed by BJP’s Tuhin Kumar Mondal who got just 5,957 votes.

Forward’s Bloc’s Saral Deb was elected from Barasat assembly constituency in 1969, 1971, 1977, 1982, 1987 and 1991. Saral Deb was defeated in 1996 by Congress’ Ashoke Mukherjee who went on to win the next assembly elections in 2001 on behalf of TMC.

Situated in the North 24 Parganas district in West Bengal, Barasat assembly constituency is formed by areas covered by Barasat municipality and Chhoto Jagulia gram panchayat of Barasat- 1 block.

According to the figures revealed by the election commission of India, Barasat has a total electorate of 2, 11,207 voters, out of which 1, 07,949 are males and 1, 03,258 are female voters.

Barasat, which has a sizable population of non-Bengalis, is one of the seven assembly segments in the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name.

No News Found