Bangaon Uttar Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2015 bye poll to the Bangaon Lok Sabha seat of which Bangaon North assembly segment is a part, the Trinamool Congress candidate Mamatabala had secured a lead. While at the same time the BJP came second relegating the CPM to the third place. It was a remarkable performance by the party which has secured only 3.15 per cent of the votes in 2011. However, BJP, which has gained handsomely in the 2014 LS polls in the state, cannot match the organizational strength of the TMC. The Congress is not a force to reckon with in Bangaon North.

Bangaon Uttar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Biswajit Das AITC Won
Sushanta Bowali AIFB 62630
K.D. Biswas BJP 21262
Suniti Mallick BSP 4840
Juran Chandra Panday RPI(A) 1290
Shyamsundar Halder SUCI(C) 833
Pinaki Ranjan Bharati TRMRPPI 537

Bangaon North is currently represented in the West Bengal legislative assembly by TMC’s Biswajit Das who won the seat by defeating Biswajit Biswas of CPM by a margin of 23620 votes in a bipolar contest. While 89265 votes were polled in favour of Biswajit Das, the CPM candidate received 65645 votes, Hari Chand Biswas who entered the fray on the ticket of BJP was placed third with just 5,149 votes.

The predominantly rural constituency of Bangaon North is one of the seven assembly segments in the Bangaon Lok Sabha constituency and reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Bangaon North assembly segment had an electorate of 189468 in 2011. Of them 97429 were male and 92039 were female voters.

Bangaon North assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Bangaon municipality as well as Akaipur, Dharma Pukuria, Chhaigheria, Ganganandapur, Gopalnagar I, Ghatbore and Gopalnagar II gram panchayats of Bangaon block.

No News Found