Balurghat Assembly Elections 2016

After wresting the Balurghat assembly seat from the Left Front in 2011, Trinamool Congress is trying to retain the seat in the coming 2016 polls. While the rivalry between Revolutionary Socialist Party and CPM, both the constituents of the Left Front, is an open secret. BJP, which has pockets of influence, will try to make the contest a triangular fight.

Balurghat Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Biswanath Choudhury RSP Won
Shankar Chakravorti AITC 59140
Gautam Chakraborty BJP 15258
Samar Kumar Mahato BSP 1668
Birendra Nath Mohanta SUCI(C) 1490

Public works department minister in the Mamata Banerjee government Shankar Chakraborty is the sitting MLA of Balurghat which he won in 2011 by defeating seven time RSP legislator Biswanath Chowdhury by a margin of 18291 votes. in that election while Shankar Chakraborty, who has recently been made TMC’s South Dinajpur district president, polled votes, Biswanath Chowdhury, who served as a minster in the Left Front government, received 49204 votes and was followed by BJP’s Ranjan Mondal who had to be satisfied with just 4,378 votes.

Before 2011, Biswanath Chowdhury had been getting elected from the seat since 1977.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Dakshin Dinajpur district of West Bengal, Balurghat has a mix of rural and urban population.

The latest figures revealed by the Election Commission estimate that Balurghat assembly constituency has a total a total electorate of 1, 57,881,.Of them 80,542 are males and 77,329 are females.

Balurghat municipality and Hilli block are covered by the Balurghat assembly constituency which also contains Vatpara, Amritakhand and Chingishpur gram panchayats of Balurghat block.

Balurghat is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary constituency of the same name in West Bengal.

No News Found