Bally Assembly Elections 2016

Though BJP had barely secured 2,677 votes in the Bally assembly constituency in the last assembly polls in 2011, the party made handsome gains in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by getting 30,916 votes in the assembly segment. IN 2014 the party had taken lead in five of the 16 wards of the Bally municipality. However, in 2015 municipal elections it failed to win a single ward and TMC made a clean sweep by claiming all the 16 wards. In all likelihood, Bally will witness multi-cornered contest in which TMC has an edge.

Bally Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Baishali Dalmiya AITC Won
Saumendranath Bera CPM 37299
Kaushik Chakraborty BJP 17418
Sushil Ghosh IND 729
Soumen Dutta IND 705
Putul Chowdhury SUCI(C) 591
Suvodeep Roy IND 253
Punit Kumar Singh JD(S) 197
Bikash Rajak IND 180
Mrityunjay Sarkar IND 142
Koushik Paul IND 137
Ashraf Ali IND 128
Balai Ghosh IND 113

Currently represented by the Trinamool Congress legislator and former police officer Sultan Singh, Bally was won by him in 2011 by defeating the then sitting CPM MLA Kanika Ganguly by a comfortable margin of 6600 votes in a bipolar contest. Where 52770 votes were polled in favour of Sultan Singh, the CPIM candidate received 46170 votes and was distantly followed by BJP's Bharat Bhushan Ojha who got just 2677 votes. Kanika Ganguly was elected from Bally in 1996, 2001 and 2006. Sultan had lost as a Congress nominee in 2001.

One of the sixteen assembly constituencies in the Howrah district of West Bengal, Bally assembly constituency is composed of the area covered by Bally municipality. The constituency is home to about 35 per cent Hindi-speaking labourers.

Bally is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Howrah Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission, out of the total electorate 142634 in the constituency, the male voters number at 79639 whereas there are 62995 women voters.

No News Found