Bagnan Assembly Elections 2016

In Bagnan assembly constituency, Trinamool Congress is way ahead of its nearest rival CPM which is steadily losing its grip. Even an alliance with the Congress is not enough for the CPM to win the seat. The upcoming 2016 assembly election to Bagnan will witness triangular fight among TMC, CPM and BJP which had performed well in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Bagnan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Arunava Sen(Raja) AITC Won
Mina Mukherjee Ghosh CPM 67637
Samiran Roy BJP 10332
Sanjit Patra IND 885
Nikhil Ranjan Bera SUCI(C) 476
Dilip Dey CPI(ML)(L) 470
Bijon Kumar Malakar IND 443
Dilip Kumar Bauri IUL 443
Amarendra Gayen IND 209

Arunava Sen (Raja) is the sitting MLA of Bagnan which was won by him on behalf of the TMC in 2011. In that election, he had defeated the sitting CPM MLA Akkel Ali Khan by a handsome margin of 19270 votes. The BJP candidate Tapan Kumar Mondal polled only 3,965 votes to finish a distant third and lose his deposit.

Prior to 2011, CPIM had been winning the Bagnan assembly seat since 1971 barring 1996. Nirupama Chatterjee emerged victorious in 1971, 1977, 1982, 1987, 1991 and 2006. She was defeated in 1996 by Sabuj Dutta of Congress.

One of the seven assembly segments comprising the Parliamentary constituency of Uluberia, Bagnan is formed by the areas covered by Bagnan- 2 block, and Bagnan I, Bangalpur, Bagnan II, Haturia I, Khalore, Haturia II gram panchayats of Bagnan-1 block.

The predominantly rural constituency of Bagnan is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Howrah district of West Bengal. In 2011 general assembly elections, the constituency had an electorate of 180651, out of which 96134 were male voters and 84517 were female electorates.

No News Found