Bagdah Assembly Elections 2016

Currently represented by the Trinamool Congress legislator Upendra Nath Biswas who was elected to the Legislative assembly first time, Bagdah was won by him in 2011. Popularly known as U N Biswas, he is a minster in the Mamata Banerjee government and came to the forefront of conscious attention as an Officer of CBI managed to send former Bihar Chief Minister Lalu Prasad yadav to jail in the multi-crore fodder scam.

Bagdah Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dulal Chandra Bar INC Won
Upendra Nath Biswas AITC 89790
Biva Majumder BJP 8996
Bikash Biswas BSP 1538
Harish Chandra Mondal IND 792
Hirok Golder GMM 581
Goutam Malo RPI(A) 498

Earlier former Assembly Speaker Apurbalal Majumdar had represented the Bagdah seat five times, While he claimed the seat in 1967, 1969, 1971 and 1972 on the ticket of Forward Block, he emerged victorious in 1987 as a candidate of the Congress. Later he had joined the Trinamool Congress.

In the 2016 bye poll to the Bangaon parliamentary constituency while the TMC had led from the Bagda assembly seat and the BJP was the runner up relegating the CPIM to the third position. So the coming assembly elections will witness triangular contest between TMC, BJP and CPM.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Bagdah covers Bagdah block as well as Sundarpur, Gangrapota and Tengra gram panchayats of Bangaon block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, the predominantly rural constituency of Bagdah is one of the seven assembly segments in the Bangaon Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2011 assembly election, Bagdah, where people belonging to the Matua community are in a majority, had an electorate of 203625, out of whom 106361 were male voters and 97264 were females.

No News Found