Ausgram Assembly Elections 2016

That Ausgram assembly constituency is a bastion of the CPM can be ascertained from the fat that the party has never lost an election to the seat since 1967. However, with the installation of the TMC government in West Bengal, the party is expanding its base in the constituency. The reign of terror unleashed by TMC, which was once the hallmark of the CPM, has instilled fear in the CPM cadres who are unwilling to come out in open to take on TMC.

Ausgram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Abhedananda Thander AITC Won
Basudev Mete CPM 84198
Sanatan Maji BJP 14686
Kalpana Ankure IND 2263
Manasa Mete SUCI(C) 1485

Ausgram assembly seat is currently held by Basudeb Mete who won the seat from in 2011 by defeating his nearest Congress rival Chanchal Kumar Mondal by a handsome margin of 23096 votes. While 90863 votes were received by Basudeb Mete the Congress nominee got 67,767 votes and was followed by BJP’s Shanti Karmakar who received 7,663 votes.

Earlier CPM’s Shreedhar Malik had represented the seat from 1977 to 1996. The party’s another legislator Kartick Chandra Bag was elected from the seat in 1996, 2001 and 2006. The CPM has been winning all the assembly elections to Ausgram since 1977.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Ausgram is one of the twenty-five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by areas covered by Guskara municipality, Ausgram -1 block and Ausgram -2 block.

Though located in Bardhaman, Ausgram is one of the seven assembly segments that make for parliamentary constituency of Bolpur.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Ausgram, there was a total electorate of 196219. Out of the total electors, 102341 were males and 93878 were females.

No News Found