Asansol Dakshin Assembly Elections 2016

Though in the last parliamentary elections in 2014, Asansol Dakshin assembly segment had given the BJP candidate Babul Supriyo a good lead of around 21,000 votes, the results of the recently concluded municipal elections in Asansol have put the Trinamool Congress .on a firm footing. As things stand today. The BJP has also lost significant ground since the Lok Sabha elections. The seat will witness triangular fight between TMC, CPM and the BJP in the forthcoming assembly elections in West Bengal. It is pertinent to note that caste does not play an important role in the election to this constituency.

Asansol Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Tapas Banerjee AITC Won
Hemant Prabhakar CPM 57232
Col. Diptansu Chaudhury BJP 49199
Chhoton Ruidas BMP 2096
Sukanta Hembram JDP 1601

Asansol Dakshin assembly seat is currently held by Tapas Banerjee of Trinamool Congress. In 2011 he had defeated his nearest CPIM rival Ashok Kumar Mukherjee by a handsome margin of 28541 votes in a bipolar contest. The BJP and JD (U) candidates lost their deposit and were relegated to the third and fourth places. Tapas Banerjee had unsuccessfully contested the Jamuria assembly seat as a candidate of the Congress in 1991.

One of the 25 assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Asansol Dakshin is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Asansol parliamentary constituency. Asansol Dakshin is an urban constituency and came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission. The assembly segment is composed of wards 9, 18, 20, 34 to 50 of Asansol Municipal Corporation and Amrasota, Ballavpur, Egra, Tirat and Jemari gram panchayats of Raniganj block.

In 2011 the number of electors in the Asansol Dakshin assembly constituency was 204435. Out of them, 113260 were male voters and 91175 were women voters.

No News Found