Arambag Assembly Elections 2016

Once a bastion of the CPM, Arambag assembly is now a stronghold of Trinamool Congress. There has been gradual decline in the CPM’s support base especially after the expulsion of its former Arambagh Lok Sabha MP Anil Basu who represented the parliamentary seat seven consecutive times from 1984. The party which gets the support of the minority community will have the last laugh in Arambag assembly constituency.

Arambag Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Krishna Chandra Santra AITC Won
Asit Malik CPM 71122
Murari Bera BJP 17261

In the last assembly election in 2011, Arambag had elected Krishna Chandra Santra of TMC. He wrested the seat from the CPM by defeating its candidate Asit Malik by a margin of 19563 votes in a bipolar fight.

Earlier since 1987 the seat has been sending to the state legislature candidates of CPM whose member had won three times in a row from 1996. CPM’s Benode Das had clamed the seat in 1987 and 1991.

Former Congress Chief Minister Prafulla Chandra Sen had been elected from the Arambag assembly constituency in 1969, 1971 and 1977. Senior Congress leader Abdul Mannan had also represented the seat from 1982 to 1987.

Arambag, which became a reserved seat for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes before 2011, is one of the eighteen assembly constituencies located in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Arambag municipality, and Batanal, Arandi I, Arandi II, Gaurhati I, Gaurhati II, Mayapur I, Mayapur II, Madhabpur, Malaypur I, Malaypur II, Salepur I, Tirol and Salepur II gram panchayats of Arambagh block.

Arambag is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary constituency of the same name.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Arambag, there was a total electorate of 207829. Out of the total electors, 107099 were males and 100730 were females.

No News Found