Amta Assembly Elections 2016

Once an invincible fortress of the CPM, Amta has now turned into a turf for the TMC. Though the seat is now held by the Congress, the party does not stand much of a chance. The upcoming 2016 assembly election to Amta is likely to be a contest mainly between the CPM and the TMC. If the CPM enters into an alliance with the Congress, the TMC may find itself on a weak wicket.

Amta Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Asit Mitra INC Won
Tushar Kanti Sil AITC 84645
Suman Sarkar BJP 11045
Ratan Chandra Malick IND 1379
Sanjib Santra SUCI(C) 789
Dilip Kumar Hait IND 674

Asit Mitra is the sitting MLA of Amta which was won by him on behalf of the Congress in 2011. In that election, he had defeated Rabindra Nath Mitra of the Communist Party of India (Marxists) by a handsome margin of 13719 votes. The BJP candidate Sanat Hazra polled only 3,781 votes to finish a distant third and lose his deposit. Asit Mitra was earlier elected twice from the Kalyanpur Assembly constituency

Prior to 2011, CPIM had been winning the Amta assembly seat since 1977. While Pratyush Mukherjee emerged victorious in 1996, 2001 and 2006, Barindranath Koley represented the seat from 1977 to 1996

One of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Uluberia, Amta is formed by the areas covered by Amta- 2 block as well as Baksirhat, Bainan, Kalyanpur and Sabsit gram panchayats of Bagnan- 1 block.

Amta is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Howrah district of West Bengal. In 2011 general assembly elections, 206749 people were eligible to vote in the Amta assembly constituency. Out of these 111160 were male voters and 95589 were female electorates.

No News Found