Amdanga Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress seems to be on a form footing in Amdanga because the party enjoys the support of the minority community which had deserted the CPM in the last assembly elections in 2011. Once a CPM bastion, Amdanga is poised to witness a keen contest and the party which will bag maximum number of minority votes will have edge in the coming 2016 assembly elections.

Amdanga Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rafiqur Rahaman AITC Won
Abdus Sattar CPM 73228
Arindam Dey BJP 15691
Matiar Rahaman Biswas PDS 1655
Safique Ali BSP 1647
Goutam Biswas SUCI(C) 1178
Kaosar Ali Mallik IND 995

Currently Amdanga is held by TMC legislator Rafiqur Rahaman who wrested the seat from CPM by defeating its then sitting MLA Abdus Sattar by a margin of 21557 votes in a bipolar election in 2011. In that election while Rafiqur Rahaman polled 87,162 votes, Abdus Sattar secured 65,605 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Joydeb Ghosh who got just 4,633 votes.

Earlier former West Bengal Assembly Speaker Hashim Abdul Halim had represented the seat from 1977 to 2006. In 2001, Halim’s victory margin was just 64 votes and hence he contested the next assembly election from Entally assembly constituency which he won.

Abdus Sattar had won the Amdanga seat in 2006 by defeating Rafiqur Rahaman.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, the rural assembly constituency of Amdanga is formed the areas covered by Amdanga block, and Kashimpur, Dattapukur I and Dattapukur II gram panchayats of Barasat-1 block.

Minority dominated Amdanga is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Barrackpore.

In 2011 assembly election to Amdanga, 177905 voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in the constituency. Out of the total electors, 94080 were males and 83825 were females.

No News Found