Alipurduar Assembly Elections 2016

Once a bastion of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Alipurduars assembly constituency is all set to witness close fight among the TMC, RSP and BJP. This stems from the performances of the above mentioned parties in 2014 parliamentary elections. Though the Congress is not serious contender for the seat, it has the potential of denting the prospects of the TMC.

Alipurduar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sourav Chakraborty(Ghutish) AITC Won
Biswa Ranjan Sarkar INC 77737
Kushal Chatterjee (Tatu) BJP 20098
Nirmal Das RSP 7324
Alokesh Das SUCI(C) 2308
Dalendra Nath Ray AMB 1341
Santosh Kumar Balo IND 989
Gouri Roy BSP 974

Debaprasad Roy is the sitting Congress MLA of Alipurduars which he won in 2011 by defeating his nearest RSP rival and former PWD minister Kshiti Goswami by 6783 votes in a bipolar contest.

While 79605 votes were polled in favour of Debaprasad Roy, Kshiti Goswami secured 72822 votes and was remotely followed by BJP’s Manik Chandra Saha who got 8238 votes. In 2011 Kshiti Goswami was fielded by the RSP in place of Nirmal Das who had been elected from the seat in 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Located in the newly created district of the same name in West Bengal, Alipurduars assembly constituency contains under its domain AlipurduarRailway Junction, Alipurduarmunicipality, Banchukamari, Mathura, Chakowakheti, Parorpar, Shalkumar I, Shalkumar II, Patlakhawa, Tapsikhata, Vivekananda I and Vivekananda II gram panchayats of Alipurduar-1 block, and Tatpara II , Chaporerpar I and Chaporerpar II gram panchayats of Alipurduar-2 block.

Alipurduars is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name. In the last assembly election to Alipurduars in 2011, there were 201029 electors out of whom 105871 were men and 95158 were female voters.

No News Found