Yamunotri Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Yamunotri

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, Yamunotri assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 11478 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 9711 votes in this assembly segment.

Yamunotri Electoral History and Background

Yamunotri assembly seat is currently held by Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKDP) legislator Pritam Singh Panwar who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Congress MLA Kedar Singh Rawat by a margin of 2596 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat while 15909 votes were received by Pritam Singh Panwar, Kedar Singh Rawat got 13313 votes and was followed by BJP’s who received 11961 votes.

In 2007, Kedar Singh Rawat had won the seat by defeating Pritam Singh Panwar who had emerged victorious from the seat in 2002 by defeating the former.

One of the three assembly constituencies located in the Uttarkashi district in the Garhwal region of Uttrakhand, Yamunotri is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal. Purola, Gangotri, Ghanshali, Pratapnagar, Tehri, Dhanolti, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Sahaspur, Raipur, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

Chinyalisaur Tehsil as well as KC Barkot, PCs Gulari, Rajgarhi, Chaptari, Gangtari and Nagangaon of Rajgarhi KC of Rajgarhi (Barkot) Tehsil are covered by Yamunotri assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction PCs Kalyani, Jineth, Genwala (Bhandarsyun), Kurmola, Jhunga of Dunda KC and Barkot NA of Dunda Tehsil.

A total of 61863 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Yamunotri. Of them, 31665 were males and 30198 were female voters.