Yamkeshwar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Yamkeshwar

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 818 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Yamkeshwar assembly segment.

Yamkeshwar Electoral History and Background

Vijay Brathwal is the sitting MLA of Yamkeshwar assembly seat which she won third time in a row in 2012 on behalf of BJP by defeating her nearest Congress rival Sarojani Devi by a margin of 3541 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Vijay Brathwal polled 13842 votes, the Congress nominee received 10301 votes and was followed by Uttarakhand Raksha Morcha’s Renu Bisht who got 8541 votes.

Earlier Vijay Brathwal had won the Yamkeshwar assembly seat in 2002 and 2007 on behalf of the BJP. While in 2002 she had defeated Sarojani Kaintura of Congress, in the next assembly election in 2007 she had trounced Renu Bisht, then a Congress nominee.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Yamkeshwar Tehsil as well as KC Silogi, PCs Langur Palla & 43-Seela-1 of Lansdowne KC of Lansdowne Tehsil are covered by assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction KC Pokhal, PCs Seela of Dogadda KC and Dogadda MB of Kotdwar Tehsil.

Yamkeshwar is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal.

Narendranagar, Deoprayag, Rudraprayag, Kedarnath, Karnprayag, Tharali, Badrinath, Pauri, Srinagar, Chaubattakhal, Lansdowne, Kotdwar and Ramnagar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

A total of 78147 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Yamkeshwar. Of them, 41255 were males and 36892 were female voters.