Vikasnagar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Vikasnagar

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, Vikasnagar assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 9569 votes in this assembly segment.

Vikasnagar Electoral History and Background

Presently Vikasnagar is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by Congress’s Nav Prabhat who won the seat in 2012 by defeating the then sitting BJP MLA Kuldeep Kumar by a margin of 9857 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 32742 votes were received by Nav Prabhat, the BJP candidate got 22885 votes and was followed by BSP’s Gurumel Singh who received 2877 votes. Surat Singh, who entered the fray on behalf of the Uttarkhand Janwadi Party (UJP), was relegated to the fourth place with 2695 votes. UJP had contested two seats in 2012 assembly elections.

Earlier Kuldeep Kumar had won the seat in a 2009 bye-election by defeating Nav Prabhat who was elected from the seat in 2002.

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Dehradun district in Uttrakhand, Vikasnagar assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Binhar East, Binhar West, Ambari, Prithvipur, Enfield Grant, Dhakrani, Fatehpur, West Hopetown, West Hopetown, Kedarwala, Rudrapur of Vikasnagar KC, ABC-Vikasnagar NPP and Herverat Pur 'Nagarpanchayat’ of Vikasnagar Tehsil.

Vikasnagar is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal. Chakrata, Dhanolti, Tehri, Pratapnagar, Ghanshali, Purola, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Sahaspur, Raipur, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Vikasnagar, a total electorate of 93524 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 50453 were males and 43071 were females.