Tharali Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Tharali

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 12377 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Tharali assembly segment.

Tharali Electoral History and Background

Presently Tharali is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by Congress’s Jeet Ram who won the seat in 2012 by defeating Magan Lal of BJP by a small margin of 673 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 17404 votes were received by Jeet Ram, the BJP candidate got 16731 votes and was followed by CPIM’s Rajpal Kanyal who received 4256 votes. Barring the victor and the runner-up, the remaining twelve contestants forfeited their deposits.

One of the three assembly constituencies located in the Chamoli district in Uttrakhand, Tharali assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Tharali Tehsil as well as KC Nandprayag, Nandprayag NP & Forest Area of Chamoli Tehsil.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Tharali is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal.

Badrinath, Karnprayag, Kedarnath, Rudraprayag, Deoprayag, Narendranagar, Yamkeshwar, Pauri, Srinagar, Chaubattakhal, Lansdowne, Kotdwar and Ramnagar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Tharali, the constituency had a total of 90407 registered voters. Of them, 46671 were males and 43736 were female voters.