Tehri Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Tehri

Though BJP has neven won the Tehri assembly seat since the inception of Uttrakhand state, in 2014 parliamentary general elections, Tehri assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 13303 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 9761 votes in this assembly segment.

Tehri Electoral History and Background

Presently Tehri is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by Dinesh Dhanai who won the seat as an independent in 2012 by defeating his nearest rival and then sitting Congress MLA Kishore Upadhyaya by a narrow margin of 377 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat while 12026 votes were received by Dinesh Dhanai, Kishore Upadhyaya got 11649 votes and was followed by BJP’s Dhan Singh Negi who received 9828 votes.

Earlier Kishore Upadhyaya had won the seat in 2002 and 2007 on behalf of Congress.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Tehri Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Tehri assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by KC Chamba, Tehri Nagar Palika and Chamba NA of Tehri Tehsil as well as PCs Nandgaon, Gadoliya, Jakhnidhar-Koti, Nawakot, Khandogi, Anjanisain and Garakot of Jakhnidhar KC of Jakhnidhar Tehsil.

Tehri is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal.

Pratapnagar, Ghanshali, Purola, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Dhanolti, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Sahaspur, Raipur, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Tehri, a total electorate of 71981 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 37160 were males and 34821 were females.