Sitarganj Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Sitarganj

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had established a handsome lead of 20218 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Sitarganj assembly segment.

Sitarganj Electoral History and Background

Former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna is the sitting MLA of Sitarganj assembly seat which he won in a bye-election in 2014 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest BJP rival by a margin of 39,954 votes.

Vijay Bahuguna who was not a member of state assembly at the time of becoming chief minister, had to become a legislator within six months of being sworn in as CM.

Sitarganj seat was vacated by BJP’s Kiran Chand Mandal who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest BSP rival and then incumbent MLA Narayan Pal by a margin of 12612 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 29280 votes were received by Kiran Chand Mandal, the BSP candidate got 16668 votes and was followed by Congress’s Suresh Kumar who received 15508 votes.

Narayan Pal had won the Sitarganj assembly seat in 2002 and 2007.

Sitarganj is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Kichha, Rudrapur, Gadarpur, Bajpur, Kashipur, Jaspur, Kaladhungi, Haldwani, Nainital, Bhimtal, Lalkuwa, Nanak Matta and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

PCs Kunwarpur, Tiliyapur, Nakha, Nakuliya, Pindri, Baruabagh, Rampura, Roodpur, Nakatpura, Sarkarha, Sitarganj of Sitarganj KC, Sitarganj MB and Shaktigarh TAC of Sitarganj Tehsil are covered by assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction PCs Firozpur, Bara, Shahdora and Kotkhra of Kichha KC of Kichha Tehsil.

In the 2012 assembly election to Sitarganj, a total electorate of 91480 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 48966 were males and 42514 were females.