Salt Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Salt

In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Salt assembly constituency had given a lead of 7776 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta. The forthcoming 2017 assembly election to the seat is all set for keen contest between the BJP and Congress.

Salt Electoral History and Background

Surendra Singh Jeena is the sitting MLA of Salt assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of BJP by defeating his nearest Congress rival and sitting MLA Ranjeet Rawat by a margin of 5444 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat, while Surendra Singh Jeena polled 23956 votes, the BJP nominee received 18512 votes. Barring the victor and the runner-up, the remaining seven contestants forfeited their deposits.

Earlier Ranjeet Rawat had won the Salt assembly seat for Congress in 2002 and 2007 by defeating Mohan Singh of BJP and Dinesh Singh.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Almora district of Uttrakhand, Salt assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Salt Tehsil as well as KCs Manila, Syalde and PC Rotapani of Bhikiasain KC of Bhikiyasain Tehsil.

Salt is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Bageshwar, Kapkote, Gangolihat, Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Dwarahat, Ranikhet, Someshwar, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

A total of 90303 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Salt. Of them, 45243 were males and 45060 were female voters.